Two things: Essay clarification and Booth

Posted: April 4, 2012 by mahmerkhan in Uncategorized

Hello All, before I begin, may I just say that was a magnificent dinner today. Thank you all for coming, food was fantastic and conversation was non stop. I am still full, both in stomach and heart. Hope you all had as good of a time as I did. Like Jennice said, we have got to do this again.

Now, on to more serious things. Can we clear up this mess of construction and production? If anybody wants to help me by replying to this post, I am indebted to you (not in a I owe my body to labour and thus I am consciously giving you pseudo ownership of my body…Amanda I know how you feel) I am really confused between these two concepts.

Also, does anybody know where the Booth article is posted? It is supposed to help us with our essay but I am having some difficulty finding it.

Grazie Millie,

M. Ahmer Khan (not Mahmer)

Comments
  1. lilzak says:

    Mahmer, oops! I mean Ahmer. I think construction and productionis different because construction would the development of an idea including its components or parts and production would be the what you make of that construction. So, the first can be say more abstract like an idea, even an idea you may write down or suggest but the production would be the actual work you do to bring this idea to fruition.

    I hope this helps.

    Cheers,

    Geraldine

  2. jnnice says:

    I was about to say the same point as Geraldine. On my understanding, Ahmer, the construction could be a part of process for production (which is the ‘final production’ of the culture that is newly or re-defined). Let’s take Toronto as an example. The concept of “Canadian” is constructed through media production (not the same “production” I guess); and this constructed idea is making the cultural production for that constructed image becomes the ‘main stream’ what minority feel alienated from, although at some degree they strive to join (by socio-economic reasons, perhaps?).

    This is how I understooooood 😀 hope this is correct and helped you!

    cheers,

    Jennice

  3. mahmerkhan says:

    I see, well its an interesting concept and sometimes I am confused about it. Your opinions have helped me clear my mind. Thank you all for your help!

  4. I agree with Geraldine and and Jennice. I would add that the word construction implies a sense of individual agency and autonomy (someone building/creating a house) whereas production implies a larger number of actors and a lesser connotation of an active, individual agency.

    Good luck on essays everyone!

    Sana

  5. *an active, singular agency

Leave a Reply

